VC St Raphael Cycling Club

St Raphael storm awards in Fareham Whlrs Spring 10

Given the recent poor weather, the sun was a welcome visitor and the temperatures were up to 14 deg C. However there was a freshening westerly wind which helped the riders up Portsdown Hill but it hampered them on the return leg.


So the scene was set for fast race. The course was a typical early season sporting course with a power climb up Portsdown hill with a chance to view the stunning panorama but I doubt the riders had the inclination to take in the view.

So it turned out that Simon Berogna (VC St Raphael) won for the 3rd year in a row with a record breaking time of 22:50. Simon was also the fastest Vet on Standard. Second was Charlie Leech (SURC) with 23:29.

In the Vets race Simon won with -3:09 on age standard time. However because of the rule that no rider can win more than one prize the next placed riders took first and 2nd prizes in the vet's categories. Therefore the 2nd and 3rd Vets on Standard were Cliff Rowe (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) and Darryl Barr(A3CRG) with -2:12 and -2:07 on age standard time respectively took 1st and 2nd prizes.

The ladies race Florence Collyer-Powell (SURC) was 1st and 2nd was Jessy Jones-Hutchings (SURC) with times of 28:29 and 30:17 respectively. First FWCC rider was Paul Morris with 25:53.

1 Simon Berogna VC St Raphael 00:22:50
2 Charlie Leech Southampton University Road Club 00:23:29
3 Bryce Dyer Velo Club St Raphael 00:24:03


Many thanks to Graham Robins (VeloUK.Net) for this report